Odisha & Delhi successfully defend their crown at National Rugby 15s Championship

Mar 3, 2024 | Blog


Bhubaneshwar (Odisha) [India], March 3 (ANI):Odisha RFC and Delhi Hurricanes  continue their winning streak at the recently concluded National Rugby 15s Championship  (Division 1) held at KIIT University in Bhubaneshwar.

Odisha beat the Delhi Hurricane 69-5 in the Women’s category whilst the men’s team of Delhi Hurricanes struck gold by beating Future Hope Harlequins 31-8. This is the second time that both teams have completely overpowered their opponents in the finals.

As the biggest club rugby tournament in the country, the event was also a huge opportunity for upcoming players to get scouted for the 15s format, both for the men and the women’s national teams and play alongside the standout players of the final like Hupi Majhi from Odisha RFC and Mohit Khatri from Delhi Hurricanes .

The Indian Rugby Football Union (IRFU) is the sole governing body for the sport of Rugby in India. The IRFU, responsible for the growth and development of the sport of Rugby across the country, is recognized by the Ministry of Youth Affairs & Sports, Govt. of India and is a full member of the Indian Olympic Association (IOA), Asian Rugby Football Union (ARFU) & World Rugby.